Direction… Life… Moves…

There is alot going on in my life right now…. I feel like I am in training camp like on one of my favorite movies “Remember the Titans”… “I will be perfect in every aspect of the game!!! ” “I’m changing the way I walk, tackle, run”  “Water is for cowards, water is for weaklings… water is for washing the blood off my Titan uniform and you don’t get no blood on my Titan uniform… You must be outside your mind!!! ”

I’m expecting more from myself. 

1. I’m going back to school to finish my History Degree

I’ve always loved the subject and I know that there is a use for it in my life.  I love to travel and experience new things so I could easily parlay into a tourist(- just kidding) or a tour guide.. I desire to visit London, Paris (again for more than 1 day this time), and the country of Italy. I’m going to do one of these places next year, so look out world… here comes Bianca … History also gives me the discipline necessary to research facts and write… which brings me to #2

2.  I’m writing freelance on examiner.com so check me out.. just type in Bianca Woodard in the search

This is leading me into so many directions… it is great!!! Check out the articles and let me know what you think…

3.  I am focusing on doing other things with my life besides being someone’s employee for the rest of my life. 

I love the company I work for.. they have been good to me but I’ve said in times past that working for someone else is merely fulfulling their dream.  I don’t mind it but when I get uncomfortable I know it is because this is not what I want to do in life.  Recently, things have happened here that were less than favorable, my outlook went sour, and it has just been a train wreck.  I know that I am supposed to be a millionaire one day so I can’t be a millionaire working for someone else for the rest of my life now can I?  Nope… I’m a creative, driven individual…  It’s like my Pastor taught last night…  Fruit takes time… So I have to have patience and work the plan… I’m on the Tarzan method.. swinging from vine to vine until I get where I want to be in my career/business… It amazes me and sometimes scares me when I think of where I want to be… but I;m determined to press on without any interruptions or fear…

Lowell Pye releases a solo CD “Finally” in stores July 27th 2010

Lowell Pye's long awaited solo project  "Finally"
Lowell Pye’s long awaited solo project “Finally”
CD Cover
Lowell Pye, a Detroit native and long time singer/songwriter in the gospel community sang with John P. Kee and the New Life Community Choir where we remember him dancing on stage as well as his famous “wash me whiter than snow” three part harmony along with John and Isaac.

We were excited about the release of the first Men of Standard CD with favorite songs to include “An Anointed Song”, “Trust in God”, and “Yeah, Yeah”. Men of Standard was the future of gospel music back then and proved themselves over time with a string of CDs that satisfied our musical desire for a contemporary male group.

When we heard that Lowell would step out on his own for a solo venture roughly 2 years ago, we waited patiently for the CD.

On Friday July 23rd approximately 1000 people gathered at Elizabeth Baptist Church in Atlanta GA to celebrate the release of his much anticipated solo project entitled “Finally”. The concert began at 8:00 and included a special comedic appearance by “House of Payne” actor Palmer Williams Jr. and an anointed selection “Encourage Yourself” by Sherri Jones-Moffet. The artists graciously gave way to the man of the hour, Lowell Pye.

Lowell Pye’s “Finally” will be on shelves everywhere as of July 27th, 2010.

Lowell covers a contemporary gospel classic “Running Back to You”, which was originally recorded by Commissioned and written by Fred Hammond, but don’t think his project is limited to cover tunes although that song was the radio single.

“Finally” has extreme depth covering several genres including contemporary, urban contemporary, gospel ballads, choir tunes, praise/worship, and a return to his roots with quartet styled cuts. Listeners can hear the strong Marvin Winans influence in Lowell’s vocals on “Over”, which is a duet with powerhouse stellar award winning vocalist, Sherri Jones-Moffet.

“Jesus Never Fails” can quickly become a Sunday morning choir/praise team favorite and is a contemporary spin on the classic hymn of the same name. “Keep Pressing” also falls along the Sunday morning tunes and could quickly become a contemporary radio single. The ever effective piano ballad “Speak” is a selection that soloists will adopt and encourages believers to listen to the voice of the Lord in their situation.

Lowell’s roots begin to show with the tune “He’ll Make a Way”. It takes the listener back to the late 70’s style quartet music of the Williams Brothers. The toe tapping tune features the Detroit connection in Marvin Winans and Rance Allen, and is laced with live instrumentation driving the song.

Lowell’s project is a Miralax Records release and is the first from the new label founded by gospel super producer, Asaph Ward, who also produced this project and penned 5 of the 13 tracks. Lowell wrote “He’ll Make a Way” and “Good Time”. Other writers include but are not limited to PJ Morton, Marcus Devine, Deitrick Haddon, and Chop Dixson. Musicians can distinctly hear the live instrumentation on this project and new artists can learn to appreciate the affect live instruments give a project. Enjoy this project because it is well worth it.

Claude Deuce appreciation concert Sunday August 1, 2010 at New Life Worship Center- It’s Free!!

The Young Elder

On Sunday August 1st, the New Life Worship Center will celebrate Claude Deuce, a national recording artist and their Minister of Music.  The celebration begins at 6:00 PM

Location: New Life Worship Center 3550 Morgan Rd. Hephzibah Ga.  30185

Guests Include:  EMI Gospel recording artist Antonio Neal (Nashville, TN) and saxophonist Ron James (Atlanta, GA).

Claude is one of the most prolific and anointed singer, songwriter, and producers in the nation.  He is the CEO of Livin It Productions where he has produced some of gopsel music’s greatest and latest artists.  He is the son of Pastors Claude and Regina Harris, who serve as the Pastors of the New Life Worship Center, and brother to WKZK’s new radio host of “The Playlist”, Danielle Harris.   

Last year, he released his first nationally distributed CD “The Young Elder”, that soared to the top of the Billboard Charts, gained critical acclaim, as well as stellar buzz.  When gospel music bloggers outside of the Augusta area heard his CD, “The Young Elder”, they made statements such as

” I shook my head in wonder. “Where on earth has this guy been?”– The Black Gospel Blog

Claude Deuce is different. I don’t see him being bound by the musical tastes du jour… he just makes good, timeless music, and everyone else follows suit” – Gospel Pundit

“Claude had me the whole way through. This is one of the most cohesive Gospel releases that I’ve heard this year. It flows really well and I can listen to the whole CD without skipping any song”– Da Gospel Truth

You don’t want to miss this celebration! It is one of the best local gospel music concerts/celebrations of the year.  In the past this stage has been graced by Ivan Powell, Tonex, Josiah Martin, and William Murphy just to name a few. 

The event is free, so for more information please contact the church at (706) 796-7880.

Enjoy the video below of Claude singing “It Aint Over”

Stay tuned to the Augusta Gospel Music Examiner/Gospel Music Examiner for an interview with Claude Deuce on where he’s been and his upcoming new CD.