Henry VIII- WOW..


THIS is not intended to be a history lesson.. it’s just what I feel like talking about now..

I thought that people today could be ruthless… but Henry really took the cake. I am kinda into this English History thing really deep right now.. It is soooooooo interesting.. I love the Tudor Monarchs. They were a trip, but if it wasn’t for them, we might not have had access to the bible in English. I know we all know about the King James version of the bible (King James was a Stuart King, which is the line of kings that followed the Tudor Monarchs because Elizabeth never married and didn’t provide an heir), but what most people don’t realize is that if Henry VIII didn’t want a divorce from his first wife Katherine of Aragon, we might not have had a break from the Roman Catholic Church (that is another story—)… He might have left for all fo the wrong reasons but all things work together for the good of them that love the Lord.. you finish it.. Catholicism is wild– relics and all that other stuff… wow.. Did you know that the bible was only written in latin until Martin Luther translated it… then others began to do the same…
The protestant reformation made it’s way to England during his (Henry VIII) reign.. and it was aided by the wife whose head he chopped off first, Anne Boleyn.
It is amazing to watch all (on movies and mini series) of this and then to read how ruthless he was… I wouldn’t have wanted to be his friend, enemy, or the object of his suite.. because your head might end up on the block with the wrong move… of course I know he had a problem.. and it was serious… I am reading the Six Wives of Henry VIII now. I’m on wife #4 and mistress # gazillion/soon to be wife #5… It just amazes me what they did back in the day.. I hope to finish the book sometime this week… I thought that Hollywood romanticised it a bit, but for the most part, it is pretty accurate.
I think that Queen Elizabeth I was a fantastic ruler. I like reading about her because she faced so many adversities during her reign, but she is still considered to be one of the most successful rulers in English history. Her reign was called the Golden Age. She is the daughter of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn. It is fabulous how Henry was looking for a male heir (the source of all his madness and chronic divorce/annulments) and God blessed England through the female seed. He had her (Anne Boleyn) executed on the same day he asked wife #3 (Jane Seymore) to marry him. Talk about cut throat and twisted!!!
Well this blogg wasn’t for all but I just had to talk about it for a second.. Henry VIII…. what a life… he chopped off the heads of many in the 1500’s. I’m making plans to visit London in the near future (2010). I would like to see the Tower of London, Whitehall Palace, Westminster Abbey, and all the other landmarks that I am reading about. Well until next time people..
Leave a Reply

